Erasing backup-to-disk files
|Article:HOWTO11829|||||Created: 2008-01-02|||||Updated: 2008-01-15|||||Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO11829|
Erasing backup-to-disk files removes the data from both the backup-to-disk folder and the disk, and removes the file references from the catalog. However, the backup-to-disk file remains for use with future backup jobs. You cannot restore the data after you erase it. If you want to remove data from Backup Exec and restore it later, delete the file from the Media view.
Unlike other types of devices, when you erase a file from a backup-to-disk folder you cannot choose whether to perform a quick erase or a long erase. Backup Exec performs only a quick erase on backup-to-disk files in backup-to-disk folders.
You cannot restore the data that you erase. Before you erase files, be sure that you no longer need them.
To erase a backup-to-disk file
Type a name for the job or accept the default name.
Select the priority for the job.
The following options are available:
Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO11829