Removing computers from the console

Article:HOWTO13661  |  Created: 2008-01-05  |  Updated: 2013-10-17  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO13661
Article Type
How To


Environment


Removing computers from the console

When you remove one or more computers or a group of computers, the following occurs:

  • The computers are removed from all views in the console.

  • Management Control becomes inactive. Computer information is no longer published back to the Backup Exec System Recovery Manager server.

  • Backup Exec System Recovery, Management Control, and the Microsoft .NET Framework remain installed on each computer.

  • The Backup Exec System Recovery license remains on each computer.

    You can optionally have the license unassigned at the time you remove computers from the console. In such cases, Backup Exec System Recovery returns to a 60-day trial version on the client computer.

  • Backup jobs remain on each computer.

    You can optionally have backup jobs unassigned at the time you remove computers from the console.

Note:
To add the computers to the console again, you can use an Easy Installer to reinstall Management Control on the client computers.

See Creating an Easy Installer .

See Downloading an Easy Installer by end users.

See Deploying an Easy Installer by administrators.

See About managing licenses.

To remove computers from the console

  1. On the Manage page, do one of the following:

    • In the right pane, on the Computers tab, select one or more computer names in the table.

    • In the right pane, on the Groups tab, select one or more group names in the table.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • If you selected one or more computers, on the Tasks menu, click Unmanage Computers.

    • If you selected one or more groups of computers, on the Tasks menu, click Unmanage Computers in Groups.

  3. Check Remove licenses from computers before unmanaging if you want to unassign all Backup Exec System Recovery licenses from the selected computers. The licenses can be reassigned to other computers that you manage.

  4. Check Unassign backup jobs from computers before unmanaging if you want to remove backup jobs from the selected computers before the computers are removed from the console.

  5. Click OK twice to confirm the removal.


Legacy ID



313758


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO13661


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices