How to remove (unpublish) a published Workflow project

Article:HOWTO21687  |  Created: 2010-03-02  |  Updated: 2010-09-20  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO21687
Article Type
How To



Question
You want to remove (unpublish) a project that has been published by Workflow (any version). Note: This article is applicable to Workflow and ServiceDesk, as ServiceDesk uses Workflow projects.

Answer
Follow the below steps to remove a Workflow project. Note: If these steps are performed on a ServiceDesk server, substitute the paths "<Workflow_installation_drive>:\Program Files\" with "<ServiceDesk_installation_drive>:\Program Files (x86)\"

  1. On the Workflow Server, in Windows, click on Start > Run.
  2. Enter "iisreset /stop" in the Open field to stop IIS from running.
  3. Click on the OK button.
  4. In Windows still, click on Start > Run > All Programs > Administrative Tools > Internet Information Services (IIS) Manager.
  5. Click on the "+" buttons to open <server_name> > Web Sites > Default Web Site.
  6. Find the project to be removed, right click on it and choose Delete.
  7. Click on the Yes button.
  8. Verify that the project to be removed is still available in the <Workflow_installation_drive>:\Program Files\Altiris\Workflow Designer\WorkflowProjects folder, or otherwise backed up (if so desired).
  9. Navigate in Windows to <Workflow_installation_drive>:\Program Files\Altiris\Workflow Designer\WorkflowDeploy\Release folder.
  10. Find the project folder to be removed, right click on it and choose Delete.
  11. Click on the Yes button.
  12. In Windows, click on Start > Run.
  13. Enter "iisreset /start" in the Open field to start IIS running again.
  14. Right click on the Workflow Task Tray Application and choose Restart Server Extensions. Note: If this does not appear in the system tray, open it first by going to Start > All Programs > Altiris > Workflow Designer > Tools > Task Tray Tool.

Versioning Issues

If these steps were performed to remove multiple versions of a project, specifically for ServiceDesk, minor issues may occur with old tickets that were made with the removed version of the project. This can occur, for example, if SD.IncidentManagement was customized and saves as a different project name. These sort of issues can usually be safely ignored; all new tickets made with the single version of the project should work correctly.

Additional Information

Versioning is discussed in the ServiceDesk Customization Guide starting on page 14.

Related Resources

Altiris Product Guides
www.altiris.com/documentation

How to restore a ServiceDesk Workflow project to its out of box version after it has been customized
http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH127262


Legacy ID



51734


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO21687


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices