Microsoft Hyper-V restore options

Article:HOWTO23061  |  Created: 2010-01-01  |  Updated: 2011-06-27  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23061
Article Type
How To

Product(s)

Subject


Microsoft Hyper-V restore options

You can set the following options for each restore job that you create for Microsoft Hyper-V.

See Restoring data to the Hyper-V host.

Table: Microsoft Hyper-V restore options

Item

Description

Overwrite powered on virtual machines

Restores virtual machines that are turned on.

By default, the virtual machine is turned off before the restore job processes and the virtual machine is overwritten. To prevent virtual machines that are turned on from being overwritten, uncheck this option. If this option is unchecked and a virtual machine is running, the job fails. You must manually turn off the virtual machine before you attempt to run the restore job again.

Do not turn on the virtual machine

Leaves the virtual machine turned off after the restore job completes.

Turn on the virtual machine and resume from the available saved state

Turns on the virtual machine automatically after the restore job completes. The virtual machine resumes operations from the saved state from the time of the backup.

Note:

This option applies only to virtual machines that are backed up using a saved state. Virtual machines that are backed up online do not have a saved state.

Turn on the virtual machine and discard available saved state

Turns on the virtual machine automatically after the restore job completes. The virtual machine discards the available saved state.

Note:

This option applies only to virtual machines that are backed up using a saved state. Virtual machines that are backed up online do not have a saved state.


Legacy ID



v19247376_be2010_adm


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23061


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices