General options for restore jobs

Article:HOWTO23118  |  Created: 2010-01-01  |  Updated: 2011-05-04  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23118
Article Type
How To

Product(s)

Environment

Subject


General options for restore jobs

General options for restore jobs, including the name of the job, can be set through the Restore Job Properties dialog box.

See Restoring data by setting job properties.

Options for this dialog box include the following:

Table: General settings options for restore job

Item

Description

Job name

Specifies a name that describes the data that you are restoring. This is the name that is used to identify this job in the job schedule.

Job priority

Displays the priority of the access to the devices for this job.

See About job priority.

Restore over existing files

Overwrites files on the target resource that have the same name as files that are being restored. Use this option only when you are sure that you want to restore an older version of a file.

Skip if file exists

Prevents Backup Exec from overwriting files on the target disk with files that have the same names that are included in the restore job.

Overwrite the file on disk only if it is older

Prevents Backup Exec from restoring over files that exist on the disk if they are more recent than the files included in the restore job.

This option is useful if you are rebuilding a system. For example, after installing the operating system on a crashed computer, you could restore a previous full backup of the system without worrying about overwriting later versions of operating system files.

Restore all information for files and directories

Restores all information, including security information, for files and directories.

Restore only security information for files and directories

Restores only security information for files and directories. No other information is restored. This option is valid only for NTFS volumes. If you select this option along with the Skip if file exists option, no information will be restored. You can use this option with the Restore over existing files option and the Overwrite the file on disk only if it is older option.

Restore all information except security for files and directories

Restores all information except security information for files and directories. This option is valid only for NTFS volumes.

Restore corrupt files

Allows you to restore corrupt files. Select this option only if you do not want to have Backup Exec automatically exclude corrupt files from the restore process.

This option is only recommended if a job has failed because a catalog query could not determine the corrupt files on the tape. Normally, when a restore job is run, Backup Exec queries the catalog to determine if any corrupt files are on the tape and excludes them from the restore job. If, during the query process, Backup Exec cannot determine if a file is corrupt, the Restore job will not continue and will be marked as Failed. If a corrupt file cannot be excluded automatically, you can manually exclude corrupt files in the Restore selections window and run the job with the Restore Corrupt File option enabled.

Preserve tree

Restores the data with its original directory structure intact. This option is enabled by default. If you clear this option, all data (including the data in subdirectories) is restored to the path you specify in the Redirection dialog box.

Clearing the Preserve Tree option is useful when restoring several subdirectories or individual files from media, but it should not be cleared when restoring an entire drive.


Legacy ID



id-SF700153801_be2010_adm


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23118


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices