Lotus Domino backup job options

Article:HOWTO23283  |  Created: 2010-01-01  |  Updated: 2012-11-28  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23283
Article Type
How To

Product(s)

Subject


Lotus Domino backup job options

You can set Lotus Domino-specific options when you create a backup job.

See Selecting backup options for Lotus Domino databases.

The following table describes the Lotus Domino options that can be set when you create a backup job.

Table: Lotus Domino Backup Job Properties

Item

Description

Backup method

Specifies one of the following backup methods:

  • Full - Back up Database and Logs - Reset Archive Bit.

    Backs up all the selected databases. To properly back up your Lotus Domino data, you should perform regular full backups of the database. This backup method should also be used when the DBIID for the database has changed since prior transactions cannot be applied to the new database.

  • Differential - Changed Database and Logs.

    Backs up files that were modified since the last Full backup. This backup method is smaller and faster than a Full backup because only archived transaction logs, unlogged databases, and logged databases with DBIIDs that have changed will be backed up.

    Note:

    Only the nlo files that change are backed up when DAOS-enabled databases are in archive log mode and their DBIIDs do not change.

  • Incremental - Changed Database and Logs - Reset Archive Bit.

    Backs up files that were modified since the last Full or Incremental backup. This backup method is smaller and faster than a Full backup because only archived transaction logs, unlogged databases, and logged databases with DBIIDs that have changed will be backed up.

    Note:

    Only the .nlo files that change are backed up when DAOS-enabled databases are in archive log mode and their DBIIDs do not change.

Mark archive logs for recycling

Reuses the transaction log after it has been backed up.

Backup Exec will not delete the transaction log. Selecting this option only indicates that the transaction log is ready to be reused after it has been backed up successfully; the Lotus Domino server actually deletes the transaction logs.

This option is selected automatically when you select the full backup method. You cannot clear this option when you are using the full backup method.

If the option is selected when you perform a differential or incremental backup job, transaction logs that are needed to maintain the differential backups will be reused. However, it should be selected regularly to create space for new transaction logs.


Legacy ID



v19135371_be2010_adm


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23283


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices