Moving Desktop Agent users to a new network user data folder

Article:HOWTO23644  |  Created: 2010-01-01  |  Updated: 2011-07-30  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23644
Article Type
How To

Product(s)

Subject


Moving Desktop Agent users to a new network user data folder

When Desktop Agent users are moved to new network user data folders, the contents of each network user data folder are moved to a new directory. The new directories can be existing Storage Locations or other directories on the network.

When the network user data folder is moved to a UNC location, the permissions on the new location may need to be modified. The local administrator group and the owner of the files must have read and change permissions for the network user data folder. In addition, the Everyone group should be removed.

See Manually creating new network user data folders.

When the transfer is complete, each affected Desktop Agent turns off, and then automatically restarts within a 30-minute window.

After the data is successfully moved, the data in the old network user data folders is deleted. Subsequent backups are stored in the new location for each user.

To move one or more Desktop Agent users to a new network user data folder

  1. On the DLO navigation bar, click Setup.

  2. In the selection pane, click Users.

  3. Select one or more user to be moved.

  4. In the task pane, under User Tasks, click Move network user data folder.

  5. Select the location for the new network user data folder.

  6. Click Start to begin the data transfer.


Legacy ID



id-SF850133849_be2010_adm


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO23644


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices