Recovering deleted items
|Article:HOWTO37175|||||Created: 2010-12-24|||||Updated: 2012-06-27|||||Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO37175|
Enterprise Vault can retain items that users have deleted so that you have some time in which to recover items that users have deleted accidentally. You can configure this recovery feature on the Archive Settings tab of Site Properties.
If recovery is enabled, Enterprise Vault retains deleted items for the period of time that is specified on the Archive Settings tab of Site Properties. At the end of that time the item is permanently deleted.
When a user deletes an item from an archive, the item is removed from the archive's index, so the item can no longer be found by searching and is not visible in Archive Explorer. However, direct links to the item, such as mailbox shortcuts, still work. The deleted item no longer contributes to the archive quota usage.
Note that a user can retrieve a copy of a deleted item by using a shortcut. If the user then rearchives this item without modifying it, the item is still in a deleted state and therefore is not searchable and not visible in Archive Explorer.
Recovery is available only for those items that users have deleted. You cannot recover items that Storage Expiry has deleted. Also, if Storage Expiry deletes an item that has already been deleted by a user, you cannot then recover that item.
To recover items that have been deleted from an archive
In the Administration Console, expand the tree view until the Archives container is visible.
Expand the Archives container and then click the container that has the archive with the deleted items.
Right-click the archive with the deleted items and, on the shortcut menu, click Properties.
Click the Deleted Items tab. The tab shows the number of items that can be recovered.
Click Recover Items. This recovers all available items in the archive. You cannot select specific items.
Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO37175