HOW TO: Permanently Remove Files using PGP Shred in PGP Desktop 9.0.x for Macintosh

Article:HOWTO41908  |  Created: 2006-02-17  |  Updated: 2011-02-23  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO41908
Article Type
How To




This article describes how to permanently remove file with PGP Desktop 9.0.x for Macintosh


The PGP Shred feature is used to completely destroy sensitive files without leaving fragments of their data behind. A file that has been removed with PGP Shred cannot be retrieved even with the use of disk recovery software.


 

How to Set PGP Shredding Preferences

  1. Open PGP Desktop by clicking on the PGP Desktop icon in the system menu bar, then scroll down and click Open PGP Desktop. If the PGP Desktop icon is not visible in the system menu then start PGP Desktop by clicking on the application (default location is the Applications folder).
  2. In the menu click PGP, then scroll down and click Preferences.
  3. Click the Shredding tab in the upper right.
  4. Set the Number of passes to the desired number by clicking on the up or down arrow.
  5. Click on the Warn me before shredding checkbox to enable or disable the warning.
  6. Close the preferences window by clicking on the red x in the top left corner of the window.

 

Using PGP Shredder to Remove Files

  1. Copy the PGP Shredder application to your Desktop or Dock. By default it is installed in the same directory as your PGP Desktop application.
  2. Drag the file or folder you wish to shred to the PGP Shredder icon. A confirmation dialog appears (unless the Shredding preference for this was modified from the default).
  3. Click OK. The file or folder is now securely deleted from your system.

 

Using the Shred Files Icon in the Toolbar to Remove Files

  1. Open PGP Desktop by clicking on the PGP Desktop icon in the system menu bar, then scroll down and click Open PGP Desktop. If the PGP Desktop icon is not visible in the system menu then start PGP Desktop by clicking on the application (default location is the Applications folder).
  2. If the PGP Toolbar is not visible: from the menu click View, then scroll down and click Show Toolbar.
  3. Drag the file or folder you wish to shred to the Shred Files icon in the PGP Toolsbar. Alternatively, you could click on the Shred Files icon, which would allow you to browse to the file or folder you wish to shred. A confirmation dialog appears (unless the Shredding preference for this was modified from the default).
  4. Click OK. The file or folder is now securely deleted from your system.

 

Using PGP Menu to Remove Files

  1. Open PGP Desktop by clicking on the PGP Desktop icon in the system menu bar, then scroll down and click Open PGP Desktop. If the PGP Desktop icon is not visible in the system menu then start PGP Desktop by clicking on the application (default location is the Applications folder).
  2. In the menu click File, then scroll down and click Shred.
  3. Browse to the file or folder you wish to shred, and then click Shred. A confirmation dialog appears (unless the Shredding preference for this was modified from the default).
  4. Click OK. The file or folder is now securely deleted from your system.

 

Using PGP Shred via the Finder to Remove Files

  1. Open a Finder window.
  2. In the finder, browse to the file or folder you wish to shred.
  3. Ctrl+click (or right click) on the file or folder, scroll to PGP and click on Shred in the sub-menu. A confirmation dialog appears (unless the Shredding preference for this was modified from the default).
  4. Click OK. The file or folder is now securely deleted from your system.

Legacy ID



84


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO41908


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices