Redirecting a restore to a different client

Article:HOWTO43883  |  Created: 2011-03-08  |  Updated: 2011-03-17  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO43883
Article Type
How To


Environment

Subject


Redirecting a restore to a different client

Use the following procedure to restore files of one client to a different client.

Separate procedures exist for UNIX and Windows.

To redirect a restore to a different client on UNIX and Linux

  1. Click the Restore Files tab.

  2. Click the NetBackup Server tab.

  3. Click Actions > Specify NetBackup Machines and Policy.

    On the dialog box that appears, choose from the following options:

    • To browse the backups you want, select the server that backed up the files you want to restore.

    • Select the source client whose files you want to redirect.

    • Select the destination client where you plan to restore the files.

    • Select the policy type for the source client and the destination client. Both clients must be the same policy type.

    • Click OK.

  4. Click Actions > Select Restore Type and select the restore type.

  5. Click View > Refresh.

  6. Select the items you want to restore.

  7. Preview a list of the required media for the restore:

    Click Preview.

    If the backup images required to restore the data are on disk storage units rather than removable media such as tape, no media is listed.

    Click OK to close the dialog box.

  8. Click Restore.

  9. In the Restore Marked Files dialog box, make the following selections:

    Destination

    Restore Options

    Select from the following restore options:

    • Restore without access control attributes (Windows clients only)

    • Overwrite existing files

    • Restore directories without crossing mount points

    • Rename hard links

    • Rename soft links

    For more information on Restore Options, see the following topic:

    See About the NetBackup restore options.

    Job Priority

    You can change the priority of this restore by clicking Override default priority, and then set a priority number.

    The default is 90000. The available range is 0 to 99999.

    See About job priority for restores.

    Use default progress log file name

    By default, progress log messages are written to the following location on the client:

    /usr/openv/netbackup/logs/user_ops/loginID/logs

    To change the location and the name of the progress log file for this restore, take the following actions:

    • Click this check box to remove the check mark.

    • In the Progress log filename field, enter a new path and file name.

    See About Progress Log Files.

  10. Click Start Restore.

  11. In the dialog box that appears, click Yes to view the status of the restore.

To redirect a restore to a different client on Windows

  1. Click File > Select Files and Folders to Restore and select the restore type.

  2. Click File > Specify NetBackup Machines and Policy Type.

  3. On the dialog box that appears, choose from the following options:

    • To browse the backups you want, select the server that backed up the files you want to restore.

    • Select the source client whose files you want to redirect.

    • Select the destination client where you plan to restore the files.

    • Select the policy type for the source client and the destination client. Both clients must be the same policy type.

      This option is active only for administrators on a NetBackup master server.

    • Click OK.

  4. Select the items you want to restore.

  5. Preview a list of the required media for the restore:

    Click Actions > Preview Media.

    If the backup images required to restore the data are on disk storage units rather than removable media such as tape, no media is listed.

    Click OK to close the dialog box.

  6. Click Actions > Start Restore of Marked Files.

  7. In the Restore Marked Files dialog box, make the following selections:

    Destination

    Restore Options

    Select from the following restore options:

    • Restore without access control attributes (Windows clients only)

    • Overwrite existing files

    • Do not restore the file

      This option is the default.

      You cannot redirect a restore and use a temporary file name.

    For more information on Restore Options, see the following topic:

    See About the NetBackup restore options.

    Job Priority

    You can change the priority of this restore by clicking Override default priority, and then set a priority number.

    The default is 90000. The available range is 0 to 99999.

    See About job priority for restores.

  8. Click Start Restore.

  9. In the dialog box that appears, click Yes to view the status of the restore.

See Redirecting a restore from a Backup Exec image

See Preventing server-directed restores

See About redirecting a restore to a different client

See Guidelines for redirecting a restore


Legacy ID



v15203498_v51700224


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO43883


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices