Enabling or disabling SRT exclusive use

Article:HOWTO45871  |  Created: 2011-03-22  |  Updated: 2011-03-22  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO45871
Article Type
How To

Product(s)


Enabling or disabling SRT exclusive use

The following information applies only to UNIX and Linux clients.

If you save custom files with the client configuration, you can copy those custom files into the SRT. They then are used in the temporary operating system environment on the client during the restore. To do so, enable the SRT for exclusive use by the client. Other clients cannot use that SRT until you disable it from exclusive use, which removes the custom files from the SRT.

Enable exclusive use before you do any of the following:

  • Run a prepare-to-restore operation.

  • Run a prepare-to-discover operation.

  • Create a bootable CD or DVD (if you create a bootable CD or DVD that contains an SRT that has custom files).

Note:

If you enable an SRT for exclusive use before custom files are saved for that client, the prepare-to-restore or prepare-to-discover process fails.

You may want to consult the following additional information:

See About saving custom files on UNIX or Linux.

To enable or disable SRT exclusive use

  1. On the boot server where the SRT resides, change to the following directory:

    /opt/openv/netbackup/bin

  2. Enter the following command:

    ./bmrsrtadm

  3. When you are prompted, select the option to modify an existing shared resource tree.

  4. When you are prompted, enter the name of the SRT to modify.

  5. When you are prompted, select the option to change exclusive use of the SRT.

  6. When you are prompted, do either of the following:

    • To enable exclusive use, enter a client name.

    • To disable exclusive use, press Enter without entering anything.


Legacy ID



id-SF880410640_v55470412


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO45871


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices