Adding a delete entry to a virtual software layer

Article:HOWTO50148  |  Created: 2011-04-18  |  Updated: 2011-09-26  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO50148
Article Type
How To


Subject


Adding a delete entry to a virtual software layer

A delete entry hides a file on a computer when a virtual software layer is active. The hidden file functions as if it were deleted. When the layer is deactivated or deleted, the file reappears.

You can use delete entries to hide any file on a computer when a layer is activated. For example, you can create a layer for Mozilla Firefox with delete the entries that hide the Internet Explorer shortcuts. When the Firefox layer is activated, the Internet Explorer shortcuts are hidden. If the Firefox layer is deactivated or deleted, the shortcuts are visible.

With the global capture method, you can add a delete entry when you create a layer. Any file or registry setting that you delete when in capture mode becomes a delete entry in the read-only sublayer.

You can also manually add one or more delete entries to a layer. You normally add a delete entry to the read-only sublayer. To add a delete entry for a layer, the layer must be deactivated.

Warning:

Avoid adding delete entries to a layer unless you are sure that no other applications need the file.

A delete entry is also added whenever a user deletes a file or a registry entry from the read-only sublayer. The files are not deleted, but they become delete entries in the writeable sublayer. If the layer is reset, the file is restored to the read-only sublayer. You can view a layer's delete entries to see if files from the read-only layer have been deleted.

To add a delete entry to a virtual software layer

  1. Start the SWV Admin tool.

  2. Click Start > All Programs > Symantec > Workspace > Virtualization > Symantec Workspace Virtualization Admin.

  3. In the SWV Admin tool, double-click the layer.

  4. In the Layer Properties dialog box, click the Delete Entries tab.

  5. In the left pane, select the folder for the delete entry.

    The Delete Entries tab has a read-only and a writeable node for both files and registry entries. When you add a delete entry, make sure that you select the appropriate node. The writeable nodes have a System Delete List and a user-specific delete list. If you add a delete entry to the System Delete List, the delete entry is deleted for all users. If you add a delete entry to a specific user delete list, it is only deleted for that user. For example, if you specify a user delete entry for a desktop shortcut, it is only deleted for that user.

  6. In the right pane, on the right-click menu, click New Delete Entry.

  7. Edit the default entry, [SYSTEMDRIVE]\Filename.ext, to define the delete entry.


Legacy ID



id-SF0P0122332_v57224467


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO50148


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices