Erasing media

Article:HOWTO51830  |  Created: 2011-05-04  |  Updated: 2011-05-04  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO51830
Article Type
How To

Product(s)

Environment

Subject


Erasing media

You can erase media by using either Quick erase or Long erase. Not all devices support a long erase; those that do not can only perform a quick erase.

Quick erase writes an indicator at the beginning of the media that makes the data contained on the media inaccessible. For most uses, a Quick erase is sufficient.

Long erase instructs the drive to physically erase the entire media. If you have sensitive information on the media and you want to dispose of it, use Long erase. Running Long erase on media can take several minutes to several hours to complete (depending on the drive and the media capacity).

Quick and Long erase do not change the media label. To change a media label, use Label Media or Rename prior to the Erase operation.

You cannot cancel an Erase operation after it has started; however, you can use Cancel to stop a queued erase operation.

To erase media

  1. On the navigation bar, click Devices.

  2. Expand the server icon.

  3. Select the drive or slot containing the media you want to erase.

  4. Under Media Tasks in the task pane, select either Erase media, quick or Erase media, long.

    If the drive does not support a long erase, Erase media, long will not be available.

    The following warning is displayed:

    "This operation will be performed on the current media in the drive or slot. If the media has been changed since the last inventory operation was performed, the media label in the next dialog may not match the media in the drive or slot selected."

  5. Click Yes to continue.

    The media displayed was read during the last inventory operation; the display does not change until another inventory operation occurs. Therefore, if you change media in the slot or drive but did not run Inventory, the media label displayed may not match the actual media in the slot or drive.

  6. When prompted, click Yes to erase the media.

  7. To specify a job name or a job priority, in the Properties pane, under Settings, click General.

  8. If you want a person or group to be notified when the job completes, in the Properties pane, under Settings, click Notification and select the options you want.

    See Notification options for jobs.

  9. If you want to run the job now, click Run Now. Otherwise, on the Properties pane, under Frequency, click Schedule to set the scheduling options you want to use.

    See Schedule options.


Legacy ID



v26801757_be2010_adm


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO51830


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices