Blocking clients from being added to groups

Article:HOWTO55005  |  Created: 2011-06-29  |  Updated: 2011-12-16  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO55005
Article Type
How To


Subject


Blocking clients from being added to groups

You can set up client installation packages with their group membership already defined. If you define a group in the package, the client automatically is added to the appropriate group. The client is added the first time it makes a connection to the management server.

See Managing client installation packages.

You can turn on blocking if you do not want clients to be added automatically to a specific group when they connect to the network.

The blocking option prevents users from automatically being added to a group. You can block a new client from being added to the group to which they were assigned in the client installation package. In this case, the client gets added to the default group. You can manually move a computer to a blocked group.

To block clients from being added to groups

  1. In the console, click Clients.

  2. Under Clients, right-click a group, and click Properties.

  3. On the Details tab, under Tasks, click Edit Group Properties.

  4. In the Group Properties for group name dialog box, click Block New Clients.

  5. Click OK.


Legacy ID



v11093890_v59371754


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO55005


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices