About deleting a published software resource
|Article:HOWTO62596|||||Created: 2011-12-14|||||Updated: 2011-12-20|||||Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO62596|
You can delete a software resource that is published to the Software Portal. However, you cannot delete a software resource that has references. A reference is an association between the software resource and another item in the Symantec Management Platform.
When a software resource is published to the Software Portal, a reference to its publishing settings is created. The publishing settings include the permissions, software name, and software description. Because these references are saved with the software resource, you can temporarily un-publish the software from the Software Portal without losing its settings.
For example, you publish a software resource to the Software Portal and set permissions for 12 user groups. Later, you need to make that software unavailable for a specific time, so you uncheck the check box on the Software Publishing tab. When you decide to make the software available again, you can check the check box and the software's Software Portal settings are preserved. You do not have to reset the permissions for those user groups.
Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO62596