About the Erase Disk task

Article:HOWTO63368  |  Created: 2011-12-15  |  Updated: 2011-12-15  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO63368
Article Type
How To

Subject


About the Erase Disk task

The Erase Disk task lets you erase a disk to reallocate the hardware. You can either delete the partitions of the disk, erase the system disk, or configure the task to erase all the disks. The Erase Disk task does not operate on any disk that is connected through an USB or through an FireWire interface.

You access the Erase Disk task from Manage > Jobs and Tasks menu. In the Jobs and Tasks window, expand System Jobs and Tasks and right-click Deployment and Migration > New > Task option. In the Create New Task dialog box, access Deployment and Migration > Erase Disk.

The fields and descriptions of the Erase Disk task are as follows:

Table: Erase Disk task

Field

Description

Task name icon

Lets you specify the name of the erase disk task.

Remove partitions

Lets you remove the selected partitions of the disk.

Select the disk partition from the drop-down list of the Disk selection option and check the Erase data check box.

Erase disk

Lets you select from the following options to erase disk:

  • System disk

    Select this option if you want to erase system disk of the WinPE environment.

  • All disks

    Select this option if you want to erase all disks.

  • Secure erase

    Select this option to erase data more than once.

    The following group of operations is performed on the hard drive six times:

    • All addressable locations are overwritten with 0x35.

    • All addressable locations are overwritten with 0xCA.

    • All addressable locations are overwritten with a pseudo-random character.

    • All addressable locations are verified in hardware using the Verify Sectors command to the disk.

Note:

Using the Secure erase option, this task has a 36-hour timeout value on the task server. If this task runs on a client that has a hard disk larger than 375 GB, the task reports as failed on the task server. However, the task continues to run on the client until it completes.

Advanced Options

Displays advanced options such as Reboot.

Lets you reboot the computer after the erase task completes.

See Erasing a Disk


Legacy ID



v50212004_v61911175


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO63368


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices