About using checkpoint restart

Article:HOWTO74232  |  Created: 2012-03-02  |  Updated: 2012-03-16  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO74232
Article Type
How To


Subject


About using checkpoint restart

Checkpoint restart lets you restart jobs that are interrupted. The job restarts from the point where it was interrupted instead of starting over again at the beginning. Files that were already backed up are skipped and only the remaining files are backed up when the job restarts. Backup Exec gives restarted jobs a "Resumed" status. If checkpoint restart is not enabled, you must restart failed or interrupted jobs from the beginning. You can enable or disable checkpoint restart in the Advance Open File options when you create backup jobs.

See Advanced Open File options.

Note:

Checkpoint restart cannot restart a backup job until it has backed up at least 32 MB of data. If a backup job fails before it has backed up at least that much data, you can run it again manually.

Checkpoint restart is enabled by default. Backup Exec waits two minutes after the error and then attempts to restart the job one time. You can modify the default checkpoint restart settings as error-handling rules.

See About error-handling rules for failed or canceled jobs.

Note:

If you use the Central Admin Server Option (CASO), any jobs that are restarted run on the same managed Backup Exec server on which the job failed. If the original Backup Exec server is not available, Backup Exec selects a different Backup Exec server on which to run the restarted job.

Checkpoint restart is only supported for NTFS volumes. The only type of snapshot technology that is supported for checkpoint restart is VSS.

Checkpoint restart is not supported for the following:

Backup Exec automatically cancels any jobs that run for too long according to the schedule settings that you selected when you created the job. If Backup Exec automatically cancels a job, it is not eligible to be restarted. If you manually cancel a job, Backup Exec does not automatically try to restart it.

You should consider the following things before you use checkpoint restart:

  • If the failure occurs in the middle of an append job, the media is no longer appendable. The media is not appendable until it is erased, overwritten, or the retention period expires. When the restart occurs, Backup Exec uses new media. You should select an appropriate media overwrite protection level to ensure that the restart does not overwrite the media that was used before the job failure.

  • If the failure occurs during a verify job or a database consistency check job, the job restarts at the beginning.

  • Full backups that were interrupted and resumed from the point of failure do not display in the Simplified Disaster Recovery Recover This Computer Wizard. However, you can restore these backup sets manually after you make the initial recovery by using the Recover This Computer Wizard.

  • You can enable the checkpoint restart option for a full backup job that uses the Delete selected files and folders after successful backup option. If the job fails and is resumed, the files are not deleted from the source volume after the backup completes.


Legacy ID



v60492369_v71805793


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO74232


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices