Switching a client between user mode and computer mode

Article:HOWTO80734  |  Created: 2012-10-24  |  Updated: 2013-10-07  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO80734
Article Type
How To


Subject


Switching a client between user mode and computer mode

You add clients to be in either user mode or computer mode, based on how you want to apply policies to the clients in groups. After a user or a computer is added to a group, it assumes the policies that were assigned to the group.

When you add a client, it defaults to computer mode, which takes precedence over user mode. Symantec recommends that you use computer mode.

Mode

Description

Computer mode

The client computer gets the policies from the group of which the computer is a member. The client protects the computer with the same policies, regardless of which user is logged on to the computer. The policy follows the group that the computer is in. Computer mode is the default setting. Many organizations configure a majority of clients in computer mode. Based on your network environment, you might want to configure a few clients with special requirements as users.

You cannot switch from user mode to computer mode if the computer name is already in another group. Switching to computer mode deletes the user name of the client from the group and adds the computer name of the client into the group.

Clients that you add in computer mode can be enabled as unmanaged detectors, and used to detect unauthorized devices.

See Configuring a client to detect unmanaged devices.

User mode

The client computer gets the policies from the group of which the user is a member. The policies change, depending on which user is logged on to the client. The policy follows the user.

You cannot switch from computer mode to user mode if the user's logon name and the computer name are already contained in any group. Switching to user mode deletes the computer name of the client from the group. It then adds the user name of the client into the group.

When you deploy a client installation package, you specify which group the client goes in. You can later specify the client to be in user mode or computer mode. If the client later gets deleted or disconnected and then gets added again and reconnected, the client returns to the original group. However, you can configure the client to stay with the group it was last moved to in user mode or computer mode. For example, a new user might log on to a client that is configured in user mode. The client then stays in the group that the previous user was in.

You configure these settings by clicking Clients > Policies, and then Communications Settings.

To switch a client between user mode and computer mode

  1. In the console, click Clients.

  2. On the Clients page, under Clients, select the group that contains the user or computer.

  3. On the Clients tab, right-click the computer or the user name in the table, and then select either Switch to Computer Mode or Switch to User Mode.

    This mode is a toggle setting so one or the other always displays. The information in the table changes to reflect the new setting.

See Assigning clients to groups before you install the client software.


Legacy ID



v11094329_v81626096


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO80734


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices