Choosing 'Deploy the client' option in the Migration and Deployment Wizard

Article:TECH102708  |  Created: 2007-01-22  |  Updated: 2008-01-08  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH102708
Article Type
Technical Solution


Issue



What happens when you choose the 'Deploy the client' option in the Migration and Deployment Wizard?


Solution



When you choose the deploy option in the Migration and Deployment Wizard it presents you with the following steps:
  1. Detect and import existing client configurations
  2. Create deployment packages
  3. Optionally deploy the product
  4. The last step is a Yes or No option:
      • Click Yes, to push out the client and have various default client installation packages created.

        OR
      • Click No, if you want to deploy them later.

After several minutes this process completes and another wizard launches. You are asked to indicate, again, the directory from which to pull the installation package and the maximum number of concurrent deployments.
You will then see the usual selection screen for which machines you want to deploy to. This is basically just like the ClientRemote Install tool in the Symantec System Center.






Legacy ID



2007102212240748


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH102708


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices