How to restore a ServiceDesk Workflow project to its out of box version after it has been customized

Article:TECH127262  |  Created: 2010-03-30  |  Updated: 2010-09-20  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH127262
Article Type
Technical Solution


Issue



You have customized a ServiceDesk Workflow project, such as SD.IncidentManagement. Now, due to issues with the customization or the desire to remove these, you want to restore this back to its out of box version.


Solution



There are two methods of restoring a ServiceDesk Workflow project to its out of box version.

Restore All Projects

Performing an upgrade install of ServiceDesk will prompt to revert any customized Workflow projects back to their out of box versions.

  1. In the Altiris 7 Console, go to Settings > All Settings.
  2. Go to Service and Asset Management > ServiceDesk > ServiceDesk.
  3. Click on the Altiris.ServiceDesk.2009.exe file. Note: This may be named something different by future updates.
  4. Copy the .exe file to the ServiceDesk server and run it.
  5. The install will then run. Choose Upgrade during the installation process.
  6. During one of the next steps, a checklist of what is detected as customized/non-standard Workflow projects will be listed. Enable or disable any here and proceed with the install.
  7. After the upgrade install finishes, any removed customizations should have their Workflow projects restored to their out of box versions. 
  8. In Windows, click on Start > Run.
  9. Enter "iisreset /start" in the Open field to start IIS running again.
  10. Right click on the Workflow Task Tray Application and choose Restart Server Extensions. Note: If this does not appear in the system tray, open it first by going to Start > All Programs > Altiris > Workflow Designer > Tools > Task Tray Tool.
  11. Any restored projects should now be using their out of box original versions.

Restore a Specific Project

 

Performing a specific project restore will only affect that project, leaving any other project's customizations intact. Note: If other projects were customized to work hand in hand with others, you may need to restore all relevant ones to correct any issues.

  1. Remove the old project by unpublishing it. Instructions for removing a project can be found in the related article below:

    How to remove (unpublish) a published Workflow project
    http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO21687

     
  2. In Workflow Designer, go to File > Open Project and select the <name>.package file for the project to open and click on the Open button. For example, SD.IncidentManagement.package for the Incident Management project.
  3. On the Unpackage Project window, the Name of the project should not include any numbers, such as SD.IncidentManagement1, etc. If so, this indicates that the folder from step 2 was not removed. Do so first before continuing, and save the project to the normal file name. Click on the OK button.
  4. On the Custom Library Conflicts window, leave any custom libraries unchecked and click on the OK button.
  5. On the Resource Refresh window, click on the Continue button.
  6. Once the project is loaded into Workflow Designer, re-publish the out of box version. This will replace the previously published version, thereby reverting any customizations or correcting any issues that those may have resulted in. Go to the project's File menu > Publish Project > Publish Application to Server.
  7. On the Publish Project window, click in the checkbox next to "Local". This checks both boxes. Click on the OK button.
  8. Click on the No button for the next two windows.
  9. In Windows, click on Start > Run.
  10. Enter "iisreset /start" in the Open field to start IIS running again.
  11. Right click on the Workflow Task Tray Application and choose Restart Server Extensions. Note: If this does not appear in the system tray, open it first by going to Start > All Programs > Altiris > Workflow Designer > Tools > Task Tray Tool.
  12. The restored project should now be using its out of box original version.

Related Resources

Are previous ServiceDesk customizations kept when upgrading or reinstalling
ServiceDesk?
http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO30327



Legacy ID



52211


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH127262


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices