When performing restore of Content-DB(s) under Web Application, the settings of Web Application are restored with default
|Article:TECH140693|||||Created: 2010-09-27|||||Updated: 2012-03-14|||||Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH140693|
|NOTE: If you are experiencing this particular known issue, we recommend that you Subscribe to receive email notification each time this article is updated. Subscribers will be the first to learn about any releases, status changes, workarounds or decisions made.|
When performing restore of Content-DB(s) under Web Application, the settings of Web Application are restored with default.
This issue is currently reported for the following settings, but not limited to.
- Setting of Extend Web Application to Another IIS Web Site
- Authentication method
- Retention period of Recycle Bin
Figure 1 is an instance of extending Web Application. This is adding a new IIS web site SharePoint - 81 (port 81) to a Web Application which already has an IIS site SharePoint - 80.
After the Extend Web Application is completed, two sites can be confirmed in both Authentication Providers and Alternate Access Mapping. (Figure 2, 3)
If a restore job of the content-db under SharePoint - 80 is completed, only one site is listed in both Authentication Providers and Alternate Access Mapping. (Figure 4, 5)
Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 and 2010
Backup Exec 2010
This has been fixed in Backup Exec 2012.
To work around this issue, perform one of the following:
a) Perform the setting again
b) Perform the Disaster Recovery procedure from beginning
When performing Disaster Recovery, get a full backup as soon as possible after the DR is completed.
Spsv3: Settings of Extend Web Application to Another IIS Web Site is cleared when the content-db is restored
Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH140693