What is the CheckPoint Restart option in Backup Exec and how to enable or disable it

Article:TECH93079  |  Created: 2003-01-26  |  Updated: 2013-01-22  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH93079
Article Type
Technical Solution

Product(s)

Environment

Issue



This article describes the CheckPoint Restart option in Backup Exec 10.x 11.x and 12.x and explains how to enable or disable it.


Solution



The CheckPoint Restart option is available in the cluster-aware installation of Backup Exec 10, 11, and 12. It can be enabled or disabled for each backup job that runs on the cluster (by default, Checkpoint Restart is enabled).

When this option is enabled, jobs that were interrupted because of a failover continue on the failover node from the point of interruption rather than starting over. Files that were already backed up are skipped, and only the remaining files in the job are backed up when the job is restarted. If this option is not selected, backup jobs are restarted from the beginning on the failover node.


CheckPoint Restart works best for the following file types:

1. NT file system (NTFS)

2. Generic Remote File System (GRFS)

3. Storage Management Services (SMS)

4. Exchange mailboxes and public folders

5. SQL database non-snapshot backups


The following types of files cannot use CheckPoint Restart:

1. System State

2. Lotus Domino

3. Exchange Information Store and Directory Services

4. GRFS Oracle

5. NTFS Image sets

6. NTFS Snapped volumes

7. SQL database snapshot backups

8. SQL transaction log backups

9. NetWare SMS (the checkpoint restart option should be disabled for NetWare backups
using the Remote Agent)


Checkpoint restart is not supported by the following:

1. The Advanced Open File Option.

2. The offhost backup feature in the Advanced Disk-based Backup Option.

3. When the option Collect additional information for synthetic backups is selected for the synthetic backup feature in the Advanced Disk-based Backup Option.

4. Incremental backups based on the archive bit.
 

 
Jobs that are restarted from the point of failover display a status of 'Resumed' in the Job Monitor.  Before using checkpoint restart, the following needs to be reviewed:

 
1. If a resource was completely backed up prior to a cluster failover, that resource is skipped upon checkpoint restart, regardless of whether the backup type or file type of that resource is supported by checkpoint restart. This saves media space and backup time.
 
2. If failover occurs in the middle of backing up a resource, the media that was being used at the time of the failover is left unappendable and new media will be requested upon restart. It is recommended to select an appropriate media overwrite protection level to ensure that media that was used prior to the failover is not overwritten upon restart.
 
3. The data that is backed up upon restart is part of a different backup set than the data that was backed up prior to the failover. Separate catalog backup set entries are created for the data backed up prior to the failover and after the failover. In addition, if multiple cluster failovers occur during the backup of a given resource, a different backup set is created each time the job restarts. These multiple backup sets allow potential for duplication of backed up data. It is important to restore the backup sets in the order in which they were backed up.
 

 
In addition, enable the Restore over existing files option when performing a restore operation on these backup sets to ensure that all the data included in the backup set is completely restored.
 

 
4.If failover occurs during a post-backup verify job, or a pre-backup or post-backup database consistency check job, that job starts at the beginning after failover.
 
5. Entries for full-volume backups that were interrupted by a cluster failover and resumed from the point of failover do not display in the IDR Restore Wizard. Restore these backup sets manually after you make the initial recovery using the IDR Restore Wizard.
 
6. If the checkpoint restart setting is enabled for an archive backup job that is resumed when a cluster failover occurs, the files selected for archive are not automatically deleted from the source volume after the backup completes.
 
7. If a failover occurs on a clustered managed media server, the job that is recovered resumes on the active cluster node. The job will not be recovered to any other managed media servers outside of the Backup Exec cluster.
 

 
To enable or disable checkpoint restart:

1. On the navigation bar, click Backup

2. On the Properties pane, under Settings, click Clusters

3. Select or clear the Apply CheckPoint Restart (resume jobs from point of failover) check box


Figure 1
 


Defaults set in Backup Exec remain the same on the failover nodes as they were on the controlling node when failover occurs.

4. To apply Checkpoint Restart to backup jobs, make sure that the Error-Handling Rule for Cluster Failover is enabled.
   Enable the Cluster Failover error-handling rule. On the Tools menu, select Error-Handling rules.

5. Select the Cluster Failover rule, and then click Edit

6. Verify that the Enabled field is selected


 



Legacy ID



259515


Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH93079


Terms of use for this information are found in Legal Notices