Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

How to Cleanup After an Uninstall of DS for Dell Servers

Created: 15 Aug 2008 • Updated: 07 Jul 2009
Language Translations
eorme's picture
+4 4 Votes
Login to vote

This document will explain additional steps that can be taken after an uninstallation of Deployment Solution for Dell Servers that will "clean the slate" before reinstalling the product. While uninstallation is usually not necessary (since each new version is designed to upgrade older installations) there are certain scenarios in which users may want to a complete uninstall such as beta customers ending their beta trial period or users troubleshooting product issues.

Part I - Running the Uninstaller

The uninstaller can most easily be run through the Add/Remove Programs feature in the Control Panel. Alternatively, if the user still has the installer executable, they may launch it and follow the on-screen instructions.

Running the uninstaller removes all the files that were copied down by the installer within the following folders within the Deployment Share:

Dell
Bootwiz\oem\Dell

Files that were copied or captured by the customer during their use of the product (such as OS Source Files or hardware configuration files) are left on the Deployment Share for reference by the customer. Therefore, after most uninstallations, the "Dell" folder will still exist off the Deployment Share.

There are additional components that will not be removed by the uninstaller such as:

  • Tables and stored procedures within the SQL database.
  • Jobs within the DS Console
  • Dell specific PXE images

Continue on to Part II to learn how to completely remove these components.

Part II - Removing of Left Over Components

After running the installer follow these steps to clean up the components left behind.

  1. Remove the "Dell" folder from the Deployment Share.
  2. Verify that the Bootwiz\oem\Dell folder has been removed from the Deployment Share.
  3. Delete all jobs created by the Deployment Solution for Dell Product, and any additional jobs you may have created that are associated with any of the Dell specific PXE images.
    Note: If you want to retain any of these jobs for reference, you may associate them with the default PXE images instead of deleting them.
  4. Open Tools->PXE Configuration and delete all PXE images that begin with "DELL".
    Note: If the delete button is disabled when you select a PXE image, that means there are still jobs within the console that are associated with that image. Go to step 3.
  5. Open the SQL Management Studio (If using Microsoft SQL Server 2005 or the corresponding SQL database manager for your version) and login to the database.
  6. Expand the database for Deployment Solution. The default name is "eXpress".
  7. 7) Navigate to the "Tables" folder and drop all tables that begin with "dell".
  8. Navigate to the "Programmability" folder and drop all stored procedures that begin with "dell".

You're done! You can now run the installer for Deployment Solution for Dell Servers and be confident that you are in a clean state.