Video Screencast Help
Protect Your POS Environment Against Retail Data Breaches. Learn More.
Archiving and eDiscovery Community Blog

How to Close an Enterprise Vault Partition

Created: 15 Apr 2013 • Updated: 29 May 2014 • 2 comments
Rob.Wilcox's picture
+1 1 Vote
Login to vote

 

Vault Store partition data grows over time, there is almost no stopping it.  It holds true whether you're archiving from SharePoint, Exchange, Domino or File Servers.  For many small to medium organisations the problems becomes how to backup all that data in a timely, frequently manner in case of disaster striking.  One possible way is to implement a partition closure strategy.  Below I'll describe how to close a partition, what happens when you do so, and how this might affect what you have to then backup regularly.
 
In the Vault Admin Console under the Vault Store node the right hand window (shown below) shows you a list of partitions that are contained within that Vault Store.  Many people will have just the one which was created and configured when the Vault Store was created.
 
It is possible to close that single partition - makes archiving hard to do afterwards - but at least retrievals of the data which has already been archived will still work.
 
To close the partition, ….
 

Create a new ready partition

 
Before closing the partition you need to create at least one new one and set it to state to 'Ready'.  
 

Close the current open partition

 
Now when you close a partition the 'next' ready partition will be moved to the 'Open' state.  You can close the partition in two ways. Firstly via the VAC - just open the properties of the current 'Open' partition and then change the state of that partition to 'Closed' and apply the change.  Secondly you can close a partition via PowerShell - just open the Enterprise Vault management shell and do : start-partitionrollover nameofevserver nameofvaultstore
 
Optionally configure multiple ready partitions and configure automatic rollover
 
On the properties of each partition rollover can be configured to happen automatically.  It can be based on time or volume or time and volume.  Here is a screenshot:
 
vsp-close1.png
 

Change rollover order

 
The order in which partitions rollover from the current open partition to the next ready partition can be configured by going to the properties of the Vault Store.  This is shown below:
 
vsp-close2.png
 
Afterwards the list of Vault Store partitions will be changed to the order you selected.
 

Comments 2 CommentsJump to latest comment

John Santana's picture

So in this case do we need to close the old Vault Store first and then perform the new commissioning of the new Vault Store drive to ensure that the EV works as expected ?

Kind regards,

John Santana
IT Professional

--------------------------------------------------

Please be nice to me as I'm newbie in this forum.

0
Login to vote
Rob.Wilcox's picture

No, this isn't closing a Vault Store... it's closing a Vault Store partition. There is a distinction, so, if you have a question about the difference then please discuss via the forums.

0
Login to vote