Video Screencast Help
Security Response

The IT Infrastructure Library: Part II

Created: 05 Sep 2007 07:00:00 GMT • Updated: 23 Jan 2014 18:46:36 GMT
Ken Gonzalez's picture
0 0 Votes
Login to vote

As I mentioned in my last blog entry, the version that most today know as ITIL® (often referred to as ITIL v2), is defined within the two Office of Government Commerce (OGC, U.K.) publications – Service Delivery (the “Red book”) and Service Support (the “Blue book”). In these publications, the 10 core ITIL processes and Service Desk functions are described in (more or less) self-contained blocks. In this world, things were relatively simple. I’ll start off our examination of ITIL v3 from the (more familiar) process-centric perspective.

As of now, there is no official count of authoritative list from OGC of which processes should be considered as the ITIL v3 core. Unfortunately, this pushes that responsibility on to the readers’ shoulders and I assure you that this is not an easy task. Rather than making you do that, have a look at my list of the ITIL v3 processes (in alphabetical order):

1. Access Management
2. Availability Management
3. Business Questions for CSI
4. Capacity Management
5. Change Management
6. Demand Management
7. Evaluation
8. Event Management
9. Financial Management for IT Services
10. Incident Management
11. IT Service Continuity Management
12. Knowledge Management
13. Problem Management
14. Release and Deployment Management
15. Request Fulfillment
16. ROI
17. Security Management
18. Service Level Management
19. Service Asset and Configuration Management
20. Service Catalog Management
21. Service Portfolio Management
22. Service Reporting and Measurement
23. Service Validation and Testing
24. Seven Step Improvement Process
25. Supplier Management
26. Transition Planning and Support

In each case, rather than make my own interpretations or judgments, I‘ve attempted to use the authors’ placement of the material to provide the guidance necessary to determine whether or not something was a process or not. Some of the authors go to great lengths to distinguish between processes and functions, but this distinction is not rigorously maintained between the volumes. Where I found this to be especially problematic, I’ve italicized the process name to call out the discrepancy without altering the original naming. Only ROI was altered in this way and I was reluctant to do that. Given how closely the concepts related, combining the two was a relatively easy decision. As you can see our once svelte list of 10 processes and the service desk function have now expanded significantly. Unlike the Service Support and Service Delivery books, the detailed process area knowledge is divided (unevenly) across the five books and introduces a level of complexity that did not exist before. As such, a mapping is needed to show how the content from each process area fits with the five volumes of the ITIL v3 Core. This will be the focus of my next installment. In addition, we’ll also show how the old ITIL v2 processes map on. Big hint – don’t throw away your “old” ITIL v2 books yet! As we examine additional details about ITIL v3, you may find that they will come in handy.