Video Screencast Help

Auto Upgrade package expire?

Created: 29 Jan 2013 • Updated: 31 Jan 2013 | 15 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

If an install package is specified for a group, do all machines with a lower version get upgraded automatically whenever they get added to the group?  Does this ever expire?  I have some machines in these groups that were powered off longer than the update was distributed over that do not seem to be upgrading any more.

Comments 15 CommentsJump to latest comment

_Brian's picture

If you have an upgrade schedule set and the clients missed it, than they will not upgrade.

If you don't see one, it will not expire and clients will upgrade when added to the group. Remove and re-add to see what happens.

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

Chetan Savade's picture

Hi,

Thumbs up to Brian81 suggestions.

You should try suggested steps.

Chetan Savade
Technical Support Engineer, Endpoint Security
Enterprise Technical Support
CCNA | CCNP | MCSE | SCTS |

Don't forget to mark your thread as 'SOLVED' with the answer that best helps you.<

MishaUa's picture

I haven't set an upgrade schedule with a timeframe but I left the default "Distribute upgrades over 1 days".  Does this mean that after 1 day the clients that didnt not upgrade will not upgrade?  Should I have left it at 0 days?

_Brian's picture

You can uncheck it so there will be no timeframe than

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

MishaUa's picture

So the bottom line is that if the clients are past the "Upgrade over window" I will need to re add an upgrade package to the same group for them to upgrade?

_Brian's picture

Correct.

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

pete_4u2002's picture

yes. click on help file on the SEPM it should be there as well.

SebastianZ's picture

Easiest way if you want to have all the clients from the given group to upgrade and not to worry about the schedule is to remove it. Then no matter when you add the client to the group it will upgrade.

MishaUa's picture

From the two responses above it does not look like you can remove the schedule complete.  You can set the install to install during the duration of one day or immediatly but you can not set it to indefinatly update a client in a group if it is at a lower version.  Unless you are aware of how to do this?

SebastianZ's picture

If I am not wrong if you disable the schedule and set "distribute over days" to "0" - it will mean an immediate update - but it will never expire as well, so all new clients (lower versions) added in the future to that group will be getting the upgrade according to theirs heartbeat.

SOLUTION
MishaUa's picture

Thank you Sebastian,  It does appear to work this way.  If "distribute over days" is set to "0"  the clients all get updated immediatly.  Any clients that were offline get the update when they check in.

SebastianZ's picture

So it is then, glad to help:D