Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  Av 2009 & FakeAV Alert

Posted Dec 08, 2009 12:09 PM
    This is my first time to every post here in the forums. I apologize if this issue has already been addressed elsewhere. If it has, please direct me to it. I am currently running SEP 11 MR 5 ( just upgraded from MR 4  yesterday). I have approximatly 2500 clients in my console manager. One spyware that i keep seeing we are having constant issues is the so called AV2009. SEP will often recognize that there is an infection however will not do anything. I have it set in my AV & AS policy to first try to clean if if clean is not sucessful then to quarantine an infection then delete the quarantine after three days. I often have to run Malware Bytes on many of my clients because SEP is unable to remove the AV2009. Is there something i have wrong in my set up. Any information would be greatly appreciate. Thanks

• 2.  RE: Av 2009 & FakeAV Alert
    Best Answer

Posted Dec 08, 2009 01:18 PM
    http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2008-082521-2037-99&tabid=2

here are few more file for AV2009

shlwapi.dll
    wininet.dll

av2009.exe
    AV2009.exe.exe
    shlwapi.dll
    wininet.dll
    AV2009.lnk
    Uninstall AV2009.lnk

Follow this link and submit any file that is not detected to
    https://submit.symantec.com/basic

Symantec will have definitions for files that are not being detected and the action will be taken right then on the first detection. 

Dont be mistaken that if AV detects AV2009 then it will always be detected there are 100's of variants of same type of malware with same file and Fake Product name the the viral code in the file differs so when you see such a detection and see that SEP is not detecting it or completely removing then
    1.Run full Scan with update definitions
    2.Submit files to symantec security response

check this article once : https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/articles/online-virus-and-behavioural-scan-engines