Video Screencast Help
Give us your opinion and win with Symantec! Please help us by taking this survey to tell us about your experience with Symantec Connect, so that we can continue to grow and improve.  Take the survey.

BMR - Restoring - "The Configuration must have both a system and boot volume mapped in order to be saved."

Created: 20 Dec 2013 • Updated: 17 Feb 2014 | 6 comments
Daniel Gomes's picture
This issue has been solved. See solution.

During the BMR restore, the "Windows Disk Management" window, the following message appears:

"The Configuration must have both a system and boot volume mapped in order to be saved."

Does anyone know what that means?

what the next step to perform the restore?

TKS!

Operating Systems:

Comments 6 CommentsJump to latest comment

Mark_Solutions's picture

I assume you have edited a current configuration for this client

If so then in there you may have unmapped the drives / volumes under that section of the configuration

Make sure they are still mapped - sometimes the boot volume is not the same as the O/S volume so just check everything is still mapped correctly

Authorised Symantec Consultant

Don't forget to "Mark as Solution" if someones advice has solved your issue - and please bring back the Thumbs Up!!.

SOLUTION
Daniel Gomes's picture

This worked OK! However, the job activity monitor gets the status "Finalizing" and not ends. You know what can be?

Mark_Solutions's picture

Once the server has restored it will do a cleanup process on first login - once that has completed it should show the job as completed as long as communication is OK after the restore

Authorised Symantec Consultant

Don't forget to "Mark as Solution" if someones advice has solved your issue - and please bring back the Thumbs Up!!.

Daniel Gomes's picture

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/sites/defa...); padding-right: 27px; margin-right: 3px; font-weight: bold; line-height: 15px; color: rgb(114, 168, 38); text-decoration: none; font-family: helvetica, arial, clean, sans-serif; font-size: 12px; background-position: 100% -75px; background-repeat: no-repeat no-repeat;">Mark_Solutions, Thank you for your help!

Regards...

Jaime_Vazquez's picture

BMR restore job tasks are set to "Finalizing" when all NBU file level restore jobs have completed and BMR is performing post-restore setup activities, such as DSR actions for Windows clients.

Upon reboot, a preinstalled 'bmrcleanup' process will signal the Master it is complete, assuming networking has been properly set up. This status is only for job monitoring and has no effect on the client.  The inability of the client to send the message to the Master Server wil result in  RC=200 error message panel. That is explained here:

During Bare Metal Restore (BMR) Final Cleanup, the error message "Unable to update client state on the Netbackup server, error =200" is displayed.
http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH73586

Mark_Solutions's picture

Daniel

If you are all sorted then dont forget to close the thread off using the "Mark as solution" option - this helps others with similar issues in the future

Thanks - have a good XMas

Authorised Symantec Consultant

Don't forget to "Mark as Solution" if someones advice has solved your issue - and please bring back the Thumbs Up!!.