Video Screencast Help

Boot order changes when client connects to different network

Created: 07 Nov 2012 • Updated: 07 Nov 2012 | 2 comments
STHN's picture

Hi folks,

something very wired is happening and I'm here to share it with you.

Environement:

SMP 7.1 with DS 7.1

One Notification Server with some site servers in branch offices.

The wiredness:

Clients from branch office boot in branch office network, into Windows, as they should.

Clients from branch office move to HQ network, where the notification server is located, boot into WinPE and just show the "Startup complete" X:\ with a blinking curser.

Poring over a really huge SBSLog_pxeOpts.txt reveals that the client has a different boot order when moved to the HQ network.

HQ installed.txt shows the pxe boot order on clients from the HQ network.

  (5952)    PXE Menu -> item: 000  type: 000  name: Next Device (BIOS/EFI)
  (5952)    PXE Menu -> item: 001  type: 19328  name: [X64] WinPE
  (5952)    PXE Menu -> item: 002  type: 27019  name: [X86] WinPE

branch installed.txt shows the pxe boot order if the client is installed in the branch office (it's the same client, a test machine)

  (5952)    PXE Menu -> item: 000  type: 19328  name: [X64] WinPE
  (5952)    PXE Menu -> item: 001  type: 000  name: Next Device (BIOS/EFI)
  (5952)    PXE Menu -> item: 002  type: 27019  name: [X86] WinPE

But since this is DS 7.1 there is no way to set this order, is there?

I would be delighted if someone could explain this or come up with a solution.

Thanks in advance!

Comments 2 CommentsJump to latest comment

andykn101's picture

I think it's something to do with Site PXE servers caching jobs, the NS only sends the revised boot order to the Site it thinks the client is on. This will change in DS 7.5.

Authorised Symantec Consultant (ASC) with Endpoint Management Limited, an Authorised Symantec Delivery Provider based in the UK.

Connect Etiquette: Please "Mark as Solution" posts that fix your problem.

STHN's picture

Thanks for your reply. I'm not so familiar with the mechanics of DS 7.1 so I'm not sure if I understood that right.

Is there any way to influence that behaviour?

It turned out that this behaviour is observed for any client moving to another site.

I have opend a case for that and will share the results with you.

PMCS GmbH & Co. KG - Consulting und Support für Altiris/SEP/EV und andere Symantec Produkte.
Please take the time and mark this post as solution if it solved your problem - thanks!