Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Canceling a Job Fails even in 2012.....

Created: 09 Sep 2013 • Updated: 10 Sep 2013 | 4 comments
EVC's picture
This issue has been solved. See solution.

I have been using Backup Exec on and off at various jobs for many years.  During that time, even after it was sold to Symantec, there have been many nagging and annoying glitches in this software that simply drive me crazy.

One of them is the inability to cancel a locked up job without restarting the services.  It amazes me how Symantec just polished this Veritas turd with some crazy new UI and threw it back at us with the SAME BROKENS as we had 10 years ago!

What's next, are we gonna use tiles and touch screens?  Why don't you stop with the crappy documentation and the horrible redesigns and focus on making this software actually work the way you claim it is supposed to work.  Hmm, I think I asked someone at Veritas that same question once.......

Operating Systems:

Comments 4 CommentsJump to latest comment

CraigV's picture

...instead of ranting your way through the forums, rather consider putting this in as an Idea. Not only will nobody else respond here, but having an Idea will bring focus to it. The more votes up, the more chance you have of it being implemented.

I've seen the cancelling of jobs fail across a couple of versions, so there are a number of people who have had this issue.

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/backup-and-recovery/ideas

Thanks!

Alternative ways to access Backup Exec Technical Support:

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/blogs/alte...

Colin Weaver's picture