Video Screencast Help

Cancelling Verify in backup

Created: 08 Jan 2013 • Updated: 17 Jan 2013 | 6 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

I have been backing up my 996 GB datastores for past 11 hours. The job was running at 1.2 GB/min and was followed by a Catalog job. Now it is running a Verify at almost the same rate which means it will be another 9 to 11 hours before it is done. I would like to end this Verify job by canceling. Will canceling damage my backup that is already on the media (B2D) or is it safe to cancel Verify and still be able to restore from backup job? Please help.

Comments 6 CommentsJump to latest comment

Backup_Exec's picture

Hi

 

Instead of cancelling you can run a seperate verfiy job later on but cancelling it it would not damage it but when you do a restore and if there are any issue you would run in to an issue

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH18698

Hope that helps

Thanks

Sameer

Don't forget to give a "Thumbs Up" or Mark as "Solution" if someones advice has helped you.

SOLUTION
alexny's picture

Thanks for that link and for your help.

 

Alex.

alexny's picture

Hi Sameer

Thank you. You  were actually the first to respond with a solution.

Much apppreciated.

 

Alexny.

pkh's picture

Canceling the verify job wil not damage the backup set.  However, since the backup set is not verified, there is no 100% guarantee that you would be able to restore from this backup.  Verify is to ensure that you can read back the backup set.

You can run the verify at a later time.

alexny's picture

Thank you all for your prompt responses. I was able to run the backup and finish with the verify later.

 

Alexny