Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Clients not auto-upgrading until user logs in?

Created: 26 Jul 2013 • Updated: 14 Nov 2013 | 10 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

I am testing the auto-upgrade from SEP 12.1 RU1 to SEP 12.1 RU3.  For some reason the clients will not start the upgrade until a user actually logs into the client PC.  

Operating Systems:

Comments 10 CommentsJump to latest comment

Sumit G's picture

How you have schedule the client AutoUpgrade?

Check the client sep_inst.log from %temp%

Check the article

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/articles/upgrade-clients-sep-121-auto-upgrade-feature

Regards

Sumit G.

Craig Drake's picture

The "Upgrade Schedule" is currently unchecked and "Distribute updates over" is set to 0 days. I also have Notification set up to "Notify users before an upgrade" and "Allow users to postpone the upgrade process"

hforman's picture

This year, I decided to test the notification check box.  Big mistake as NOTHING happens until a user logs in and allows the upgrade.  If this does not happen, there will be no upgrade.  My suggestion is to uncheck the box.  In my case, no user would let the upgrade process continue.

Sumit G's picture

Have you seen the popup message on client system?

Regards

Sumit G.

Craig Drake's picture

Yes.  I see the pop-up message a few minutes after I log into a client and then everything installs fine.  I was hoping that clients would be able to upgrade while there is no user logged in.

-Craig

 

Sumit G's picture

Uncheck the notification  "Notify users before an upgrade" and check the result. For testing apply on test group

Regards

Sumit G.

SOLUTION
.Brian's picture

They shouldn't have to. What happens if you restart one? Did you uncheck the notify users box?

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

Chetan Savade's picture

Hi,

Thank you for posting in Symantec community.

What's the result after you uncheck the notify users box?

 

Chetan Savade
Sr.Technical Support Engineer, Endpoint Security
Enterprise Technical Support
CCNA | CCNP | MCSE | SCTS |

Don't forget to mark your thread as 'SOLVED' with the answer that best helps you.<

AjinBabu's picture

HI, 

Have you uncheck the notification  to user and try.

Normal steps are follows below

Upgrading clients by using AutoUpgrade

The AutoUpgrade process lets you automatically upgrade the Symantec Endpoint Protection client software for all the clients that are contained in a group. For example, you can use AutoUpgrade to upgrade clients to a new maintenance release or product version.

You must test the AutoUpgrade process before you attempt to upgrade a large number of clients in your production network. If you do not have a test network, you can create a test group within your production network. For this kind of test, you add a few non-critical clients to the test group and then upgrade them by using AutoUpgrade. You confirm that the upgrade completed successfully by verifying the version number of the client software. The version number is displayed in the client's Help >About panel.

See About upgrading client software.

To upgrade clients by using AutoUpgrade

1.    In the Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager console, click Admin.

2.    Click Install Packages.

3.    Under Tasks, click Upgrade Clients with Package.

4.    In the Upgrade Groups Wizard panel, click Next.

5.    In the Select Client Install Package panel, select the appropriate client installation package, and then click Next.

6.    In the Specify Groups panel, select the groups that contain the client computers that you want to upgrade, and then click Next.

7.    In the Package Upgrade Settings panel, select Download from the management server.

You can optionally stage and select a package on a Web server.

8.    Click Upgrade Settings.

9.    On the General tab, select Maintain existing client features when updating.

You can optionally add or remove features when upgrading.

10.  Optionally, on the Notification tab, customize the user notification settings. You can customize the message that is displayed on the client computer during the upgrade. You can also allow the user to postpone the upgrade by an amount you specify.

For more information about schedule and notification settings, click Help.

11.  Click OK.

12.  In the Upgrade Groups Wizard Complete panel, click Next.

13.  Click Finish.

Regards

Ajin

Chetan Savade's picture

Hello,

Could you please update this thread?

Chetan Savade
Sr.Technical Support Engineer, Endpoint Security
Enterprise Technical Support
CCNA | CCNP | MCSE | SCTS |

Don't forget to mark your thread as 'SOLVED' with the answer that best helps you.<