Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Deferring a Reboot for SEP 12.1.4 Upgrade

Created: 11 Mar 2014 | 4 comments

I'm running Server 2003 Enterprise on a networked server.  I was upgrading from 12.1.3 to 12.1.4 in an unmanaged client environment.  When I finished the install, I deferred the reboot until 2:35 A.M (I finished the install at 9:35 A.M.)  After 2 hours, the server rebooted on it's own.  Is there any way to keep this from happening?  I work in an environment where these servers provide web and database products to customers around the world and I would like to be able to apply the upgrade at any time.  Thanks.

Operating Systems:

Comments 4 CommentsJump to latest comment

.Brian's picture
  1. In the console, click Clients.

  2. On the Clients page, select a group, and then click Policies.

  3. On the Policies tab, click General Settings.

  4. In the General Settings dialog box, on the Restart Settings tab, select the restart method and schedule.

    Some restart options apply only to Windows clients. For details, see the context-sensitive help.

    You can also add a notification that appears on the client computer before the restart occurs.

  5. Click OK.

Verify this is set

http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO80830

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

socalswami's picture

I'm using the Unmanaged SEP, so I don't have a management machine, nor do I have clients or groups set up.  Can you think of anything else?  Why did the software tell me it was going to defer the reboot for 17 hours, then just reboot on it's own?

.Brian's picture

If you open the GUI and go to Change Settings >> General tab >> Configure Reboot Options

How was this set?

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

socalswami's picture

The "Other Options" section was set to do a Hard Restart and to Restart immediately if the user is not logged in.  If I had changed those setting prior to the upgrade, it seems that would have prevented the this from happening.  Is that correct?  If so, then I see the solution, and I thank you very much.