Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

delete inactive....

Created: 21 Aug 2014 • Updated: 04 Sep 2014 | 4 comments
G4u's picture
This issue has been solved. See solution.

We want to configure Delete inactive Client automatically 25 days in our SEPM console, reason for saving SEP client license.

Please Clear below Query

If some of user laptop is out of network during period and again laptop connect network. As per my understanding client will show again SEPM console.

1) Does client will move correct group or default group?

2) Can we track how many system /or host name has been removed from SEPM console after this setting.
 

Comments 4 CommentsJump to latest comment

AJ_01's picture

When user will be online it automatically reflect on Server.

Client will reflect to the default group.

No you not be able to track which of the hostname is removed but you can check the what count of license is free. You can check the license count before the applied and check again after it process

Regard

AJ

SOLUTION
James007's picture

If some of user laptop is out of network during period and again laptop connect network. As per my understanding client will show again SEPM console.

1) Does client will move correct group or default group?

It's going default group but you may select "Use the client's last-used Group setting" under reconnection preference for clients not to move.

How to configure client Reconnection Preferences in Symantec Endpoint Protection 11 RU6 or 12.1

Article:TECH132001  | Created: 2010-01-27  | Updated: 2011-07-04  | Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH132001

2) Can we track how many system /or host name has been removed from SEPM console after this setting.

No you can't track which client are removed for SEPM database,before applied policy your export all client data and match host name client data after applied delete inactive data policy.

ThaveshinP's picture

If you have AD integration - does the delete inactive clients affect just the non-AD objects or the AD objects as well? Objects stay by the client information gets cleaned/removed?

.Brian's picture

If NO AD sync, it will return to default group upon check in.

There is no way to track which client was deleted.

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.