Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Delete Old Snapshots

Created: 03 Feb 2009 • Updated: 21 May 2010 | 4 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

We just decommissioned and deleted 80 Servers from our NS. How do i know if the snapshots are removed from the Recovery Solution as well. We're trying to clean up our Recovery solution drive space which has grown outrageously. i'm new to recovery

Comments 4 CommentsJump to latest comment

KSchroeder's picture

chi.li:

Since you deleted them from the NS, you'll have to clear up that space via the "Manage Lost Recovery Solution Agents" tool. Just right-click the server(s) in question and choose "Mark Computer Account for Deletion...". You can SHIFT and CTRL-click to select multiple items. The next Deletion or SSM job will purge those computers' data. The job will likely take quite a bit longer as there will be more data to delete and space to compact.

Thanks,
Kyle
Symantec Trusted Advisor

For Forum threads, please click "Mark as Solution" if answered.
For all content, please give a thumbs up if you agree with or support the post.

SOLUTION
IvanMunoz's picture

Hello. We set recovery options to "delete after 10 days" for clients' snapshots.
Today i get the "disk full " message. Checked and found a lot of "2008" .dat files.
Clearing this space It is just a delete action via Windows ?  

Thanks for your help.

Regards,
Iván

KSchroeder's picture

Ivan,
A particular BLOB file could have data from hundreds of individual user files in it (assuming some new files as well as incremental changes of other files).  So what you're seeing is normal.  Also, unless a user deletes the file, it will always remain on the RS server regardless of what retention options you set.  Do NOT just go in and start deleting BLOB files; this will cause major corruption that will require running a full integrity check.   To reduce the number of BLOBs, decrease the "Compaction" value on the SSM job configuration in the Cluster properties.  If you set it to 30, then any BLOB which is 30% or more "empty" (meaning the data in it is null or 0) will be merged with data from other partially empty BLOBs into a new BLOB file, and the original BLOBs will be deleted.

Thanks,
Kyle
Symantec Trusted Advisor

For Forum threads, please click "Mark as Solution" if answered.
For all content, please give a thumbs up if you agree with or support the post.

alazanowski's picture

Whatever you do, do not delete the blob files that you have in those directories that are the .dat files that you are referring to. They are where the data is stored in a format that references pointers in a database. The only proper way to delete these is to actually go into RS and have those machines deleted. What you can also do as a "temporary workaround" is go into the Database and take a look at the SBS table. In There you should notice the workstation names and a related SBS Key. There is also a field referenced as DeleteFlag - if you set this to 1, it is the equivalent of "marking it for deletion." Update the rows that are related to the systems you removed (you should always try to use the RS application first, but sometimes this isn't always working properly) and then run the Delete Marked Items Server job.

As an FYI, you should always put a quota on your drives and not use up the entirety. If you happen to use 100% of the drive, and your blobs are trying to grow, they will become corrupt. Its best and safe to say 80% can be used, with 20% being protected for the exchange of data.

I also agree with KSchroeder on the compaction rate.

-Austin Lazanowski Backups cost way too much until you needed them.