Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

delete shortcuts in selected user accounts

Created: 03 May 2013 • Updated: 09 May 2013 | 4 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

I am looking for a way to delete the shortcuts from a group called migrated users. I have tried created a provisioning group and policy rules for the group to delete the shortcuts but I can seem to get it to work. What I am trying to do is export the archived emails to a pdf file then go into there email account and remove all the shortcuts so that I can then move all the emails over using the PST file.

Any info would be helpful thanks

Operating Systems:

Comments 4 CommentsJump to latest comment

JesusWept3's picture

It might not be working cos you have storage expiry disabled, try setting expiry to run in report mode and go by modified date, then set shortcut deletion in your users policy to one day and try again

JesusWept3's picture

Oh and what version of EV and what version of exchange?

Mark SDSF's picture

I think I have expirxy turned on with Date of 1 day. How do I verify that, and can that be inside of a provisioning group since I dont want to turn it on for everyone. I have been running provisioning in Normal mode each time and syncing the mailbox. what is the difference because from what I read report mode did not make any changes just said what it would look like if ran in normal mode.

Exchange version is 2007     EV version is 8.0.4.1991

Thanks

JesusWept3's picture

Be very careful about this
Storage expiry is set on the site level and deletes archived items
Shortcut expiry is set on the task level and deletes shortcuts

If storage expiry is disabled then shortcut expiry will not work
You want to run storage expiry in report mode so that you don't delete any physical archived email, so that technically it's enabled but in read only/report mode and then shortcut expiry can run

If you do not have storage expiry enabled, do not set it to enabled without setting report more first you could irretrievably lose items and would have to perform a DR

SOLUTION