Video Screencast Help

Deleted archived items are back when export archive to original mailbox

Created: 30 Oct 2012 • Updated: 15 Nov 2012 | 2 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Hi all,

If I export an archive back to original mailbox, deleted archived email items will also be back to mailbox, although user has deleted shortcut. Our retension policy does not delete storage items if user deletes the shortcut. User can manually de-archive items in his mailbox but this way will be quite time-consuming.

My question is: is there any way to export archive but won't bring deleted items back?

Thanks

Comments 2 CommentsJump to latest comment

TonySterling's picture

Not very easily, you would have to choose to export by folder path for all the folders in the mailbox.  Seems it would be easier to restore the whole archived and just empty the deleted items folder.

SOLUTION
Rob.Wilcox's picture

I am pretty sure that what you are seeing is exactly right.

Your policy says to delete just the shortcut, and not the archived item. When you export the archive you're doing just that.. putting back everything that is in the archive.

At this stage you don't have much of an option (going forward you could change your policy so that deletes will remove the shortcut and the archived item, but that won't help for the current items).