Video Screencast Help

Disabled endpoint clients

Created: 16 Feb 2013 • Updated: 19 Feb 2013 | 5 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

 

hi all,

A while ago i made this post about clients showing as disabled in my SEPM:
https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/sep...

Its still not all clear to me why some clients show as disabled, most clients show a recent status change, some clients have more or one feature disabled depending on the policy they have.

I have over 1000 endpoint clients, sometimes showing over 150 disabled clients.
I have some theories about why a client can show as disabled and would like to hear from you if im right about it:

- clients got another computername
- clients are reinstalled
- clients have some functions disabled

I also had a setting in my old 11.x SEPM i cant find anymore in 12.1, its the setting where i can define when i client is removed from SEPM in X days.
If this setting still exists where can i find it? and what happens if a clients get over this threshold and will be enabled again, will it become active again?

Also im working with ad groups in SEPM, often there are clients in AD groups not existing anymore, i guess this also will show as an disabled client ? and if the above x days threshold is active this is not working for AD groups?

What if i want to go back and not longer work with AD groups. If i delete this AD group will the client come back in the default group if its still active?

Hoping for some answers! Thanks,

LEVD

Comments 5 CommentsJump to latest comment

.Brian's picture

That is why, if you intentionally disable a feature such as tamper protection, it will show as Disabled in the Status on the SEPM.

This is a very misleading report some times. You need to click on more details to find out what is exactly disabled but some time the assumption can be that SEP is disabled overall when in fact it is just a component that is.

And yes, if you delete the AD group, clients will start to show back up in the Default Group

The option to set on time to delete clients has moved in 12.1

Go to the Admin page

Domains tab

Click Edit Domain Properties

And it is on now on the General tab here

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

Sumit G's picture

Can you please confirm that the client which are reflect in disable report.

What is the status in Client Group?

Are these online/offline?

Regards

Sumit G.

levd's picture

Brian81,
Thanks this explains some thing.
Can you also tell if when a client is deleted because its over his threshold for X days and gets deleted it will get activated again? Maybe i will set 2 weeks, maybe a clients will be offline for 2 weeks and 1 day.

Thanks! Levd

.Brian's picture

Yes, it will come back as loing as it can contact the SEPM. Just because it gets deleted doesn't mean it can no longer be managed.It just means it got deleted from the group. WIll show back up though.

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

SOLUTION
levd's picture

Brian,

Thank you for your information.

Levd