Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Does a duplicate stage copy data or run the entire job again?

Created: 17 Jan 2014 • Updated: 17 Jan 2014 | 3 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

As the title says, if I add a stage to my full backup does it simply copy that job out to another location or does it run the entire backup job again? 

 

I have two sites and some of the jobs I want to have the BE2012 data copied out to Site B from Site A. I have BE2012 at Site B but I don't want to run a second job from Site B across the link, I'd rather just copy the data instead of running a whole new job. 

 

This would lead into another question of whether or not I can simply copy the BE backup folder and use it later to restore?

Operating Systems:

Comments 3 CommentsJump to latest comment

pkh's picture

A duplicate job will just copy the backup set. It will not do the backup again.

There are reasons why you should not just copy the B2D folder. I don't have the document with me at the moment. I will post it later

SOLUTION
mawilkins's picture

Perfect. I know there is an SQL database attached to all the BE data as I've done some research into making duplicates of the sets but I got tired of looking and thought I'd post here.

Thanks for the answer that certainly makes my life a little less stressful. 

Sush...'s picture

Some extra information which PKH was refering to

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH176061 : Reasons why backing up or copying backup to disk data files is NOT recommended.

 

Regards,

-Sush...

Hope this piece of Information Helps you... and if it does then mark this response as Solution....!!!