Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Enabling delete from archive.

Created: 08 Nov 2010 • Updated: 08 Nov 2010 | 6 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

We are just about to enable the delete from archive function within our EV config for all users.

A question has come up which I cannot seem to find the answer to in the admin guide. If a user deletes a stub from the mailbox, will this also delete the archived item as well?

Does anyone know if this is true or false or if there is a setting to enable this either way?

Like I say I have not been able to find anything on this in the admin guide despite looking for quite some time. Perhaps I can't see the wood for the trees.

Thanks,

Jeremy

Comments 6 CommentsJump to latest comment

GertjanA's picture

Hello Jeremy,

I believe that when you enable deletions, when deleting a shortcut it also deletes the archived item.

The only thing I can find is in the Desktop Policy, Advanced, Outlook. 'Soft Deletes'.

Additionally, if you enable the 'Delete from Vault' button and toolbar, you'll see the dropdown at the bottom of 'Options'. Here you set what is being deleted:

Shortcut Only

Both deleted

Ask user

Click Help, shows more information on this.

ps. Take in account also the retention. deleted items will be recoverable for the amount of time set in the site-settings. items will not show in the search, but can be restored (i believe). I assume  that 14 days should be sufficient.

Thank you, Gertjan, MCSE, MCITP,MCTS, SCS, STS
Company: www.t2.nl

www.quadrotech-it.com

www.symantec.com/vision

SOLUTION
jprknight's picture

Thanks Gertjan,

not quite sure how I managed to glaze over those shortcut deletion settings. That looks exactly like what I am looking for.

As I said, I could not see the wood for the trees. This is a load off my mind, since which ever way my customer wants it can be setup.

Thanks again,

Jeremy.

Wayne Humphrey's picture

But it also depends on your Storage, if you do not allow users to delete from the archive set Outlook to "Ask User" The VS will override what the user selects.

jprknight's picture

Anyone know how to configure EV so when a user uses the delete button from Outlook the EV shortcut is the only thing which is deleted, the archived item remains?

I have set shortcut only deletion, but this does not seem to have the desired effect.

I find the user is prompted as below, I would prefer the shortcut only is removed and not the associated archive item. The idea being most of my users will want to clean up their mailboxes, but still keep the items in the archive. If they want to delete from the archive they will use archive explorer.

Any ideas appreciated.

Jeremy.

Nick White's picture

You will also need to exit Outlook and restart it post synchronization as the hidden message in the mailbox is only read when Outlook starts