Enterprise vault 8.02 - exporting mail back into exchange without deleted items
I have inherited a site with Exchange 2007 and EV 8.0.2.
Im looking to migrate content out of EV back into exchange for a couple of mailboxes - and have noticed that when i do so, all items, included long ago deleted items are coming back from the vault, back into the mailbox.
After a look around, i noticed the setting Policy | Exchange | desktop | Options | shortcut behaviour was set to "shortcut only"... which has now been changed to "both deleted"
Is there any way that i can get Exchange and EV to "sync" so that items that have been deleted out of exchange are also deleted out of the EV archive ? So when i go to import other peoples archives, im not flooding their mailbox with previously deleted stuff ?