Video Screencast Help

EV Backup Exec Agent not backing up Closed migrated partitions - expected result?

Created: 28 Aug 2012 | 6 comments
aschnarrs's picture

Hello

We are using EV 10.1 and the Backup Exec 2010 R3 using EV Backup Agent to backup EV.  When we attempt to backup the closed partitions that have been mirgated off to a network share backup exec seems to ignore the migrated data and only backs up the local data on the EV server (indexes, closed partitions with EV data that has not been migrated off yet).

Is this expected behavior?  If so how do you backup the migrated data using the EV backup agent?

 

Comments 6 CommentsJump to latest comment

aschnarrs's picture

Also note that no errors are present before or after the backup job.  Its just ignoring the partition data that was migrated off to a network share.

 

VJware's picture

Unexpected, as you can backup closed partitions - http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?pag...

Off the head, unsure about which version of EV is compatible with BE 2010 R3..Pls confirm from the SCL..

SaurabhK_BE's picture

Folllowing is the link for BE 2010 R3 SCL:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH137682

EV 10.1 is not included in the compatibility list.

Additionaly, I believe you are following the proper steps to move the partition, as mentioned in the below technote:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH35742

 

Jeff Shotton's picture

Absolutely expected behaviour, although I can see why in this instance it is not your desired behaviour. It wont work for open partitions either.

What the agent is doing is reading a list of the locations from the partitionentry table in the EnterpriseVaultDirectory database, and backing those up. It is not looking at the migrated locations.

Take for instance the example where you are NOT using the EnterpriseVault migrator, and are using the Netbackup migrator. What this is doing (along with other migrators like Tivoli) is actually backing up the data by creating lots of little backup jobs. So if you were using the Netbackup agent, which is very similar in operation to the Backup Exec agent (to the point which they share code) then you would be asking Netbackup to back up the stuff it was backing up by migrating it...

What you are really asking by migrating files is to move the data outside of the control of EnterpriseVault. It just happens that there exists an EnterpriseVault migrator, which is basically a file copy to create a 'big steamy heap' of data. EV does not parse this data with the storagefilewatch thread like the partitions, and is essentially 'unmanaged'. It is just expected to be there when a file is needed.

So, back this up using a regular backup -not the agent. You have 'migrated' the data outside the control of EV. You can set the time interval that migrated files remain on the original partition so you will only need to do this every now and then.

Regards,

Jeff

Jeff Shotton

Principal Consultant

Adept-tec Ltd

Website: here

aschnarrs's picture

Thanks for the follow-up. 

According to the EV compatability guilde page 24 indicates that EV 10 is supported with Backup Exec 2010 R3.  http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH38537&key=50996

Thanks for the clarification with the migrated data.  We will go ahead and backup the migrated data as a typical Windows fileserver backup.  Do the EV partitions still need to be in backup mode while backing up migrated data?

 

 

 

Jeff Shotton's picture

There is no need for the EV partition to be in backup mode when backing up migrated data.

The data in the migrated data just gets added to, rather than deleted/modified. Once it is moved to that location it is outside the control of EV. It is moved by the same process that is responsible for collections, so if you want a point in time restore capability, make sure you are not backing up the data during the same window as you are collecting it (it would also be better from a performance point of view). You also have the option to leave the files on the original storage for a period of time. By default this is one week, so you will have both files in one place for a period of time.

Regards,

Jeff

 

Jeff Shotton

Principal Consultant

Adept-tec Ltd

Website: here