Endpoint Protection

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Firewall driver not loaded - Windows 8 - SEP 12.1.2015.2015

• 1.  Firewall driver not loaded - Windows 8 - SEP 12.1.2015.2015

Posted Feb 04, 2013 02:58 PM

Hi there...

I'm an application developer at a major financial corporation in Denmark. We use Symantec Endpoint Protection (ver. 12.1.2015.2015) at work - and at home. (Our licensing permits 1 copy per employee for home use)

We run a closed forum where employees can discuss issues/problems about their private computers. The forum is only for employees.

Today we received 3 complaints from users upgrading from Windows 7 to Windows 8 with the mentioned SEP version installed. Now it reports "Firewall driver is not loaded". And furthermore now SEP cannot be uninstalled. It starts up the uninstalling process and keeps on going for a while, but then terminates with a message like "Roll back performed. No changes have been applied to the system".

How do I help these users? Some of these are IT professionals – and some are ordinary users who are not familiar with Windows Registry and such.

Note: The technical staff at our company does only support the pcs at work - not the private computers. So we will have very much trouble with getting them to raise the issue with Symantec.

Kind regards,

Lars

• 2.  RE: Firewall driver not loaded - Windows 8 - SEP 12.1.2015.2015

Posted Feb 04, 2013 03:00 PM

Is the Windows firewall disabled. Try running a repair on the SEP client.

If you need to uninstall you'll need to get the latest version of Cleanwipe to remove:

How to get the CleanWipe tool (Endpoint Removal)

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/how-get-cleanwipe-tool-endpoint-removal

• 3.  RE: Firewall driver not loaded - Windows 8 - SEP 12.1.2015.2015

Posted Feb 04, 2013 03:22 PM