Video Screencast Help

fix collation sql 2008

Created: 09 Nov 2012 • Updated: 09 Nov 2012 | 9 comments
GertjanA's picture
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Has anyone ever created a script to change collation? I have been trying to follow the advice to use the MS script, in conjunction with the Symantec Article, but that fails every time.

Thanks.

Comments 9 CommentsJump to latest comment

ZeRoC00L's picture

Are you trying to change the collation set of the SQL server itself or on existing EV databases ?

If this response answers your concern, please mark it as a "solution"

GertjanA's picture

Hi ZeroCool.

Collation on the EV databases.

I am following (or trying to follow) the TechNote (using this MSDN script etc), but that fails.

I am no SQL expert, and there is no DBA available.

when running the 'changecollation' msdn script on the directory database, i get an error:

ALTER TABLE [dbo].[utvf_intParamParser] DROP CONSTRAINT [PK__utvf_int__3214EC0706F8B8D7]

Msg 4909, Level 16, State 1, Line 1

Cannot alter 'dbo.utvf_intParamParser' because it is not a table.

--DROP PK FAILED. SEE ERROR LOG FOR DETAILS.

Msg 50000, Level 16, State 1, Line 1378

DROP PK FAILED. SEE ERROR LOG FOR DETAILS.

I am  sure the 1st step (executing the DirectoryDB_10_Programmability.sql) , up to the first CREATE statement has completed succesfully.

Thx.

Thank you, Gertjan, MCSE, MCITP,MCTS, SCS, STS
Company: www.t2.nl

www.quadrotech-it.com

www.symantec.com/vision

Chau Tran's picture

I think your best bet is to reinstall SQL server with the correct Collation that match the EV databases. Assuming that ALL the EV databases have the same collations?

Depeding on which version SQL server etc. you can install the default setting and then run the SQL setup with some switches to change the SQL server collations. Take a look at this forum:

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic269173-146-1.aspx

I had to do this not so long ago.

This in particular: