Ghost Solution Suite

View Only
  • 1.  Ghost Write Error 19944

Posted May 14, 2013 10:24 AM

I'm still very new to using Symantec Ghost version 2.5.1.  We used to use Acronis Snap Deploy and we had tons of issues where we would image labs and have half or more of the PCs just reboot in the middle of the reimage.  I wasn't sure if it was bad software or something wrong with the network.  But Acronis' tech support was terrible and I felt they weren't quite main stream so I had a hard time getting support elsewhere for them. 

So, I finally convinced our company to purchase Norton Ghost.  I don't seem to be having as many problems.  But today is the first day I'm attempting to reimage a whole lab of 32 PCs.  It hasn't finished imaging yet.  I set it up to boot to the Ghost Cast server using PXE using PC DOS.  Most of the PCs booted fine, but a few of them on the first or second try, gave me a "Ghost Write Error 19944."  I Googled the error and found this article...

http://www.symantec.com/connect/forums/ghost-write-error-19944

Everywhere says there are the two ports that are being blocked to cause that error.  One of the suggestions was Trend was known to block the ports.  I uninstalled Trend from the server.  I still got the error on a few more PCs booting up after that.  (Now to be completely honest, I haven't rebooted the server PC since uninstalling Trend and installing MS Security Essentials.  It would've caused me to have to start over on the reimage booting of the PCs... about 20 of them.)  So far 45+ minutes into the reimage, I haven't had any clients fail yet which is an improvement from Acronis.  But trying to figure out the reason for the 19944 error.  The other suggestion is the ports are being blocked by a firewall or router.  The network is a flat network, one wide open broadcast domain.  We're planning on subnetting and splitting it up this summer, but it hasn't happened yet.