Ghost Solution Suite

View Only
  • 1.  GSS v2.5 Ghost v11.5 (ghost.exe) Script Problem

Posted Jan 15, 2013 04:48 PM
      |   view attached

Problem Description

I am a novice user of Ghost.

I have a ghost image of Win7 x64 size-limited to 4 GB spans that was created
    with ghost32.exe.  It consists of a 100 MB System Reserved partition and
    another partition that contains just a C: drive.

When executed from a DOS batch file, the DOS version of Ghost v11.5
    (ghost.exe) from Ghost Solution Suite v2.5 executes a two-line ghost script.
    Upon reboot the Windows Boot Manager displays the following:

Windows Boot Manager

Windows failed to start.  A recent hardware or software change might be the
    cause.  To fix the problem:
         1. Insert your Windows installation disc and restart your computer
         2. Choose your language settings, and then click "Next".
         3. Click "Repair your computer."

If you do not have this disc, contact your system administrator or computer
    manufacturer for assistance.

Status 0xc000000e
    Info   The boot selection failed because a required device is inaccessible.

ENTER=CONTINUE                                                 ESC=ABORT

I think that Ghost is executing the first line of the script and not the
    second.  The two lines of the script "tmp2.rst" are as follows:

-Clone,Mode=pload,dst=1:1,src=..\base_os\tmp.gho:1 -fx -sure -span -ntic -afile=c:\\Logs\\GhostErr.txt
    -Clone,Mode=pload,dst=1:2,src=..\base_os\tmp.gho:2 -fx -sure -span -ntic -afile=c:\\Logs\\GhostErr.txt

Work-Around

A coworker of mine (with more ghost experience) was able to run ghost from
    the DOS command-line to restore the ghost image on an Lenovo T61p laptop.
    He is investigating using NTUtils as a short-term alternative to using Ghost.

Attachment(s)

zip
    tmp2.zip   227 B 1 version

• 2.  RE: GSS v2.5 Ghost v11.5 (ghost.exe) Script Problem

Posted Jan 16, 2013 06:53 AM