Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

How to completely switch off Application Learning?

Created: 30 Mar 2012 | 4 comments

Dear Everyone!

I ran into a problem, wich is I switched on application learning earlier, but my embedded database constantly going down because of the huge data.

I switched the learning off, from communication settings and from the admin panel, but the clients still sending "Learned Application" data to the server (I made a notification entry to send an email to me when it happens)

 

Is there any other options I need to turn off to completely switch off this feature? Maybe download insight or something?

FYI: The clients have the latest policy, learn applications switched off in communication settings, and the policy is to use Group settings, and it is even switched off in the Site Properities.

 

Any help would be appriciated.

 

thanks in advance

Comments 4 CommentsJump to latest comment

pete_4u2002's picture

if you switched off the application learning the new information will not be uploaded to the DB. The information you are seeing is the application that were already uploaded.

Invitel's picture

That may be inaccurate according to the database, wich is still growing.

COMPUTER_APPLICATION and SEM_APPLICATION tables are getting updated with new records everyday.

pete_4u2002's picture

have you disabled at the site level as well?

  1. In the Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager, click the Admin tab, and then click Servers.
  2. Under View Servers, do one of the following actions:
    - Click Local Site (Site <site name>).
    - Expand Remote Sites, and then click Site <site name> .
  3. Under Tasks, click Edit Site Properties.
  4. In the Site Properties for site name dialog box, on the General tab, uncheck Keep track of every application that the clients run.
  5. Click OK
Invitel's picture

"FYI: The clients have the latest policy, learn applications switched off in communication settings, and the policy is to use Group settings, and it is even switched off in the Site Properties."