Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Inactive/Retired Computers in Altiris 7.1

Created: 02 Dec 2011 • Updated: 02 Dec 2011 | 3 comments

Good evening/afternoon/morning to all, our Altiris 7.1 server has scoured our network, picked up a lot of what is out on the network, & a lot of other computers that no longer exist in our network. The MS Active Directory policy is not on but everything is identical to what is on AD. Just a little background information on whats going on, how do I remove these non existent computers from Altiris 7.1? I have attempted to purge them out from the database by going to Purging Maintenance but it does not clean up any of those computers. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Comments 3 CommentsJump to latest comment

mclemson's picture

If the list is identical to Active Directory, they were discovered via Active Directory Import, even if the import is currently off.  Go to Settings > All Settings, then expand Settings > Notification Server and select Microsoft Active Directory Import.  Check the box for 'Enabled' underneath 'Directory Synchronization Schedule' and choose a schedule.  This will delete any resources from the CMDB which no longer exist in AD.  Delete at least one of these "extra" resources from Active Directory prior to this step, to ensure you can confirm that it was deleted from the NS.

The reason purging maintenance isn't helping you is that purging maintenance only acts on managed computers.  If computers are already retired or were never active in the first place (IsManaged=0), then it's not going to delete them, even if you run purging maintenance with the delete option selected.

Does this help?

Mike Clemson, Senior Systems Engineer, ASC
Intuitive Technology Group -- Symantec Platinum Partner
intuitivetech.com

DesktopEng's picture

Thanks Mike for the informative answer. Are we unable to delete from Altiris 7.1 or is it dependant on Active Directory?

mclemson's picture

You can delete directly, either by right-clicking or setting it up in Purging Maintenance.

Mike Clemson, Senior Systems Engineer, ASC
Intuitive Technology Group -- Symantec Platinum Partner
intuitivetech.com