Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  Infected flag not set in SEPM 12.1.1 MP1 console

Posted Jun 08, 2012 05:29 AM

Hello everyone,

I am rather new in SEPM 12.1.1 MP1 and I do not really understand how the Infected flag is used in SEPM 12.1.1 MP1. I have been using SEPM 11 RU5, but it seems that the Infected flag is different in SEPM 12.1.1 MP1.

I have a machine that has generated the following event:

Risk Name Occurrences Description Actual Action Requested Action Secondary Action
    Trojan.Zeroaccess.B 1   Left alone Clean Quarantine

As far as I understand from this, the trojan should be still there.

If I search the machine in the SEPM console, the Infected flag is set to "Not infected".

Please note that the machine is using a SEP 11 RU5 client that is being managed by a SEPM 12.1.1 MP1 server.

Could anyone explain why the Infected flag is not activated even though the actual action was "Left alone"?

Am I missinterpreting the logs?

Thank you.

• 2.  RE: Infected flag not set in SEPM 12.1.1 MP1 console

Trusted Advisor
    Posted Jun 08, 2012 06:21 AM

Hello,

It is recommended that when migrating the SEPM to the Latest version, the clients are supposed to the migrated as well.

SEP 11.x clients would surely be able to communicate with SEPM 12.1, however there are lot of changes in SEP 12.1 policies and features when compared to SEP 11.x.

However, In your case, I would advise you to Run a Full Scan in Safe mode and check again.

and 

Check this Thread: https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/virus-found-left-alone

Check these Articles:

Explanation of Action field values in Symantec Endpoint Protection 11 and Symantec AntiVirus 10.1

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH102052

Best Practices for responding to "Left Alone" in the virus or threat history log

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH101661

Hope that helps!!

• 3.  RE: Infected flag not set in SEPM 12.1.1 MP1 console

Posted Jun 08, 2012 06:42 AM

Thank you for your reply.