Video Screencast Help

Job Failed . Final error 0x8004230f(2147754767)

Created: 26 Aug 2013 | 24 comments

Error catagory other errors ..   Refer to link V-79-32772-8975

When I go to that link it shows a article about checking on the VSS providers.  This is BE 2012 and the service that article mentions is not in the services and when I run the command the only provider I have is the Windows one.

I see some basic job failed errors in the windows logs and a couple about VSS service errors. 

I am fairly new with 2012 and this client is new for me.  

This job has been fairlilng for a while with these errors.   Can it be as simple as taking away the auto part of the VSS and have it use Microsofts ?

Thanks in advance.

Included some pictures.

Mike

Operating Systems:

Comments 24 CommentsJump to latest comment

lmosla's picture

Hello,

Is this an Exchange job?  In the backup job properties for Exchange select:    Use AOFO with Microsoft Volume Shadow Copy Service with the snap shot provider System-Use Microsoft Shadow Copy Provider 

and then reboot the server.

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH183176 

Edit:  System state job  please see: http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH159538 

mli7777's picture

No not an exchange server job just files.   But I did notice once I looked closer :) that there is the Microsoft Software Shadow copy provider service.   It was not started ?   Is that one of the services the error is mentioning to look at and make sure it is running ?  I have started it and made it auto.

Do you think that will be the possible issue ??

Thanks

Mike

lmosla's picture

Actually, it should not be started and it needs to be set to manual.  

Is this a Windows 2008 server? Have you rebooted recently?

Make sure you have run Live Updates and push the agent out to all your remote servers.  

also if there are any other backup software running there may be a conflict with the writers.

mli7777's picture

Ok ?   :)

One yes one no.  I will leave it started.